14 guests

7 bedrooms

9 beds

4 bathrooms

Silton Hall

in Northallerton


(30 Reviews)

Nestled in the quaint village of Nether Silton, Silton Hall is the perfect choice for those looking for a relaxing retreat with friends and family. Recently renovated to the highest standard, you can expect beautiful interiors and high spec amenities throughout. Boasting stunning gardens, a luxury private swimming pool and ample parking on site, this impressive property really does have everything for a memorable getaway in the countryside.

Trip Details

Property Highlight #1

Perfect for Groups

Whether you're staying with family or friends, Silton Hall sleeps up to fourteen guests making it ideal for group stays.

Property Highlight #2

Private Swimming Pool

There is a large swimming pool at Silton Hall with loungers beside it for the perfect relaxing getaway.

Property Highlight #3

Dog Friendly Retreat

Silton Hall is dog friendly so your pup can enjoy a break in North Yorkshire with all of the family!

The Space
Silton Hall is a Grade II listed building which has been refurbished to the highest standard to create a welcoming and warm place to stay when holidaying in North Yorkshire. Featuring seven bedrooms, four bathrooms, two living rooms, a fully-equipped kitchen, a dining room, a snug, a private swimming pool and lush gardens, it is perfect for groups of up to 14 guests.

When it comes to unwinding at Silton Hall, you can choose from three living areas. The ideal spot for relaxing, the formal living room features beautiful arched windows and double French doors which open out onto the garden. Boasting a large sofa, bean bags and a flat screen TV, the second living room is perfect for socialising with your loved ones. If you’re looking for a moment's peace, head to the cosy snug room where you’ll find a sofa, flat screen TV and small dining area.

You’ll be able to prepare home-cooked meals during your stay at Silton Hall as the property boasts a large kitchen. Fully equipped with modern appliances, amenities include an Aga, range oven, toaster, microwave, kettle and fridge freezer. There is also a dishwasher and coffee machine for your convenience.

Enjoy meals with your guests in the dining room. This spacious room features a large wooden dining table and stylish black dining chairs.

Head upstairs to the first floor and you’ll find seven bedrooms. Six of the bedrooms boast king size beds and the final bedroom has single bunk beds. Every care has been taken to ensure you have a comfortable night’s sleep so you’ll find plush bedding and premium bed linens in every bedroom. One of the king bedrooms also benefits from an ensuite bathroom.

There are also three family bathrooms located on this floor. Modern and sleek in style, the bathrooms have bathtubs, showers and WCs.

Silton Hall has a private swimming pool for you to use during your stay. An added luxury, you can relax on the loungers by the pool with a good book or enjoy a swim in the pool. Head outside and there’s plenty of grounds to explore as well as a patio with outdoor furniture. Relax in the sunshine with your morning cuppa or sip something bubbly as the night draws in.

Silton Hall is located in the quaint village of Nether Silton. The perfect destination for a tranquil retreat, you’ll be surrounded by countryside to explore. Head to the local village pub, The Gold Cup Inn, for a delicious meal or quiet drink. If you're looking for the ultimate relaxing morning, you can collect delicious breakfast baps from the local B&B a short walk away. They also serve yummy home made cakes and tray bakes which are perfect to enjoy with a cup of tea in the garden. Further details for this are provided with your check in details.

Great for exploring North Yorkshire, Nether Silton is close to the nearby village of Osmotherley and the market towns of Thirsk and Northallerton all of which can be reached within 15 minutes in the car.

Osmotherley is on the western edge of the North York Moors making it ideal for walking and hiking. The area is popular for the Cleveland Way National Trail and the Lyke Wake Walk so there are plenty of countryside walks right on your doorstep.

Northallerton is one of North Yorkshire’s largest towns and here you’ll find independent restaurants, tea rooms, bars and shops. We’d recommend a visit to the famous Betty’s Cafe Tea Rooms for afternoon tea and Mount Grace Priory where you can roam the ruins of a medieval monastery and beautiful gardens.

Home of the Yorkshire Vet, the traditional market town of Thirsk has a bustling town centre with independent shops, cafes and restaurants. Home to a cobbled market square with a thriving market open on Monday’s and Saturday’s, there is something for everyone in the town centre. You can visit the World of James Herriott where you’ll find a museum in his converted house and veterinary surgery.

Getting Around
Silton Hall is within walking distance of everything Nether Silton has to offer. It is 5.5 miles from Osmotherley, less than 7 miles from Northallerton and less than 9 miles from Thirsk.

The closest train station to Nether Silton is Northallerton, which is roughly a 15-minute drive from the property. Northallerton train station has regular routes to Newcastle, Manchester Piccadilly, London Kings Cross and Edinburgh.

  • Dishwasher
  • Free parking on premises
  • Heating
  • Iron and Ironing board
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • TV
  • Bathtub
  • Bed linens
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Children’s dinnerware
  • Cleaning Disinfection
  • Coffee maker
  • Cookware
  • Crib
  • Desk
  • Dishes and silverware
  • Enhanced cleaning practices
  • Essentials
  • Family/kid friendly
  • Fire extinguisher
  • First aid kit
  • Garden or backyard
  • Hangers
  • Hair dryer
  • High chair
  • High touch surfaces disinfected
  • Hot water
  • Indoor pool
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen
  • Laptop friendly workspace
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pack ’n Play/travel crib
  • Private entrance
  • Private pool
  • Rural
  • Shampoo
  • Smoke detector
  • Toaster
  • Towels provided
  • Village
  • Wireless Internet
  • Pets allowed
  • Suitable for children (2-12 years)
  • Suitable for infants (under 2 years)

Guests have access to the full property. The keys to the property are accessed via a secure key safe and full details will be provided shortly before your arrival date.

There is private parking available at the property for up to seven vehicles.

Please note the swimming pool has no lifeguard in attendance and is for the private use of guests staying at Silton Hall only. The pool is suitable for all ages but those under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult at all times. All safety measures shown at the property must be adhered to at all times.

Silton Hall welcomes two well behaved dogs per stay. The grounds are secure for dogs to roam free but some fences around the property are jumpable, so we strongly advise no dogs are left unattended.

Check-in: 16:00

Checkout: 10:00


From the guestbook


(30 Reviews)



Beautiful location, impressive building and vast grounds. 14 of us plus a dog had a long weekend here and it couldn't of been more perfect. More than enough space so that we could all hang out as a group but also enjoy our own space at times. The pool was perfectly warm enough and amenities where spot on. Would happily stay again!



The location is fantastic, the size of the house is amazing and was great for the size of our group. There was enough space and bathrooms for 14 people without making it uncomfortable.<br/>The house was very cold, i appreciate it is a large house but a better heating system could be used. There was mould in some of the older bathrooms with poor showers (particularly in one bathroom. There also appeared to be an infestation of lady birds in the top bedroom



Lovely family break at Silton Hall. The house was nice and clean with plenty or space for a large group. The pool area is great for kids, although it does not retain the heat very well.

Amelie G


We booked and paid in full for this property for friends 21st. However the NIGHT BEFORE they cancelled the booking (after accepting us and letting us pay for it) saying it was actually only available for max 3 night stay. Awful service do not recommend. Our friend now has nothing for her 21st birthday and is devastated. They did not even call to discuss with her, just issued a refund. Disgusting



We booked this air b&b to have a cute girly pamper night for my friends 21st birthday. At 9pm, the evening before, they cancelled our reservation!!!They suggested that we should have not been able to book for one night after we paid in full! They didn’t even answer the phone to my friend who was very stressed at the time, unbelievable. We are now left with no where to stay this evening and a very upset birthday girl. I do not reccomend.



This is a wonderful opulent property with ample space for large occasions. The swimming pool is a tremendous asset but is a tad cold for young children in the winter. I imagine it is fantastic in the warmer months.Similar to other reviews we found insufficient large pots for cooking and the Aga, although warm was well below a temperature where cooking on it was possible(think it might need a service). The heating was good and easily regulated to suit.<br/>The Gold Cup pub is permanently closed so if the proximity of the pub is one of the reason for booking you’ll be disappointed. <br/>The beds are comfortable and all the bedrooms are well proportioned most with appealing views. Bathrooms are pleasant functional .The house, grounds and views are breath taking even in the winter, but in warmer months I suspect your stay would be elevated to a different level entirely.



This is an amazing property set on beautiful grounds we travelled as a large family and there was plenty of space for everyone to relax in the stunning house.<br/>Unfortunately when we arrived one of the bedrooms had several ladybird nests in it meaning the couple that had chosen that room slept on the sofa in the living room for the entire stay due to poor communication and a slow response from Host and Stay. <br/>We left with this matter still in dispute and after 10 long weeks of several emails and telephone calls we eventually received a small refund. Although for the most part we had a lovely stay the customer service after leaving was horrendous and would put me off booking any properties managed by Host and Stay in the future.



Fantastic property, amazing pool, bedrooms very spacious and lovely living area. The kitchen is really well laid out with plenty of fridge/freezer space however it lacks cooking pots, sharp knives, serving dishes etc. the grounds are really well kept and location is great for walks etc.



We had a great time at Silton Hall, based on a lovely location, the use of the pool and spending time with our family. We found the rooms spacious and well laid out and the boiler room, which acted as a drying room, was a welcome addition after being outside in December and drying walking shoes and swimming costumes. The grounds are excellent and enjoyed by everyone, especially the dogs. <br/>We were a party of 12 and if we hadn’t taken some additional cooking items, we would have found it more difficult to cater for a large group.



A lovely spacious property. We went with 8 adults, four young children and a labrador dog, there was plenty of room and choice of nice spaces to help our long weekend work well. A few details made for a 4 rather than 5 star response - a light circuit not working in the dining room, a large en suite bathroom with no surfaces on which to put anything and a few other small niggles which we fed back. Overall however a great place to stay for a larger group.

The Cro


silton hall is a beautiful country house with everything you need for a large family gathering... we felt so at home and had a fabulous time celebrating a 30th birthday party with our closest family, friends, children and doggos.. we want to return in the summer and make use of the amazing outside spaces and the fantastic pool house!! thank you to host and stay and the owners for having us as guests



Silton Hall is a fantastic place to stay, a beautiful house with ample space, beautiful gardens and surroundings. The instructions from host & stay were perfect and they were easy to contact. The only problem was that the pool wasn’t warm enough, especially as we had young children in our group.



Wonderful stay, had everything we needed, beautiful property!



A beautiful building in fabulous surroundings for a peaceful weekend away. It was a shame the village pub was closed but we had a great Sunday lunch at the dog and gun in Knayton which was only 10 mins away. The pool is a great facility and the hosts were very responsive in any contact. Will certainly visit again.

Jodie T.


13 ladies all had a fabulous time from start to finish. Fantastic place to unwind and forget about home life for a few days. The beds were so comfortable. House was amazing!! Loved every minute of our stay would highly recommend to family and group bookings!!



Pros: very clean, looks as pictured, beautiful gardens and scenery, lovely pool and good temp for adults/ older children, tvs and WiFi worked easily, decent toys for children to play, board games for aduts with, nice local walks<br/>Cons: lukewarm water in the bathrooms (apart from the electric shower) pool too cold for our 15-month-old, not much to do locally other than walking, no handsoap in the toilets<br/>Overall, we were happy and enjoyed our stay. Great if you want to spend time as a family away from it all



amazing house with loads of space and incredible pool. gorgeous grounds and surrounding countryside to explore



Great facilities, loads of room along with idyllic grounds with fantastic views. <br/>Spotless throughout with fantastic attention to detail from the cleaners

Ravi P.


The property itself was fine, except the listing did not list some very important things <br><br>number one none of the windows could open they seem to be sealed shut with paint or someone nailed or screwed shut so we were not able to open any windows. This is a major problem because it was too hot, especially in the bedrooms upstairs and secondly we need fresh air and the house smells of paint. We would not have picked this property if We knew the windows would not open.<br><br>Number two we picked this because in the listing it said you could walk to the pub just a few minutes away. However, that pub has been closed completely for well over a year so this was very very misleading would not have gone there, I don’<br><br>Communication between the Hostandstay and S was very slow and I’m not always helpful<br><br>We were also told when asked that some of the food delivery apps such as Deliveroo did deliver to this property, well, they did not<br><br>The Sun lounges in the pool quite a few of them had staple sticking directly up with a sharp point upwards which is dangerous <br><br>The main bedroom ceiling started leaking on us when we were asleep in the middle of the week there <br>It seems to be that this problem has been there for awhile because of the marks on the ceiling which were there since we arrived. We had to sleep in the bedroom directly above the aga so it was very hot and Ellis, see above regarding Windows not openable. We were not offered anything for the inconvenience or hassle



We had a wonderful family weekend staying at Silton Hall. The kids had an amazing time, especially playing in the good sized warm swimming pool.



Fantastic location, perfect place for a family holiday with two well behaved dogs that could roam free in the garden

Daragh B.


Absolutely incredible. Wil be booking again for next group activity.



Excellent house. Lots of room for 3 families. Loved the pool!



stayed at silton hall for a family gathering everyone enjoyed their stay great house with a beautifully landscaped garden I would highly recommend this property



Unbelievable holiday in a stunning home with beautiful views!



Had a lovely stay with my large family. The pool house was a fabulous added extra. The house and grounds were beautiful.



Silton Hall is beautiful, the house has been renovated to a high standard and beds are really comfortable.<br/>The gardens are fantastic, the kids loved playing out there without supervision. <br/>The pool was brilliant, great size, lovely and clean and had everything you needed in the pool room (towels, sun loungers and some inflatables).<br/>There was a couple of things we missed whilst we were there, a few big pots so we could cook for everyone. There are only a few small pans. And we wished we'd brought a speaker as there wasn't anything like that.<br/>The local pub (The Gold Cup) wasn't open the day we tried to go but it looked like it should have been from the website, not sure why.<br/>It has beautiful countryside all around the hall and has a nice walk nearby that takes about an hour so great for the kids.



Beautiful property, it felt grand and homely at the same time. Perfect place for a family celebration. The pool makes it all the more enjoyable as the children loved being able to swim everyday.



Had a really fantastic stay at Silton Hall! Hosts were super responsive and helpful dealing with all my requests. Would recommend for a short stay weekend away, will be back!



Fantastic place. Me and 5 friends went there to record some music for 5 days and it was bliss.

Home Truths

The grounds at Silton Hall are secure for dogs to roam free but some fences around the property are jumpable, so we strongly advise no dogs are left unattended.

The swimming pool has no lifeguard in attendance and is for the private use of guests staying at Silton Hall only. The pool is suitable for all ages but those under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

One of the bedrooms in Silton Hall has bunk beds. Whilst ideal for children and teenagers, it may not be suitable for all adult groups.

Silton Hall is located in the quaint village of Nether Silton so it's the perfect destination for a tranquil retreat.


Via Social Media

Newsletter Sign Up


Sign Up

Get updates and inspiration straight to your inbox