Warning: mail() has been disabled for security reasons in /home/hostands/public_html/wp-content/themes/dpj/app/API/Guesty.php on line 1580

4 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds

1 bathroom

Routh Walk

in Whitby


(140 Reviews)

Routh Walk is brand new to the holiday home market. A recently refurbished, first floor apartment located just off the famous Flowergate in Whitby. An expertly designed space which can be enjoyed by couples or small groups alike. If a cosy break by the sea is what you’re looking for, Routh Walk could be for you.

Sleeping up to four guests across two bedrooms this stylish space is perfect for relaxing after a day of exploring Whitby.

Trip Details

Property Highlight #1

Dog Friendly Apartment

Routh Walk is dog friendly so four legged friends can enjoy a seaside stay in Whitby.

Property Highlight #2

Recently Refurbished

You'll find beautiful interiors throughout the apartment following a full refurbishment recently.

Property Highlight #3

Central Location

Routh Walk is located in the centre of Whitby so you can easily explore the seaside town.

The Space
Routh Walk has a simple colour palette. With fresh white walls throughout, each room then brings a pop of colour through the furniture and soft furnishings.

The open plan living, dining and kitchen area is a bright airy space. Featuring a navy corner sofa and glass top coffee table with abstract wall art, you can enjoy a movie night in front of the smart TV or enjoy some local produce from The Whitby Deli with a glass of something sweet.

The property features a u-shape high gloss kitchen with grey metro tiles. Fully equipped with everything you should need for your stay, the kitchen features a ceramic hob, electric oven, microwave, fridge and Nespresso coffee machine.

The extended island from the kitchen is home to four wooden stools, creating a relaxed dining space. If you are visiting to use the property as a base for work the island can double up as a desk.
Routh Walk features two bedrooms. The first bedroom features a king size bed with a beige studded, upholstered headboard, two marble top bedside tables and marble and copper bed lamps. The soft furnishings and artwork add a touch of colour to the room with burnt orange and earthy tones.

The second bedroom features a double bed with a bright sunshine yellow upholstered headboard, round wooden chest bedside tables and ceiling drop lights hanging at either side of the bed. With an abstract wall art montage and paint stroke decorative cushions.

The modern bathroom features a walk in shower, high gloss vanity unit, WC and matt charcoal coloured towel rail. With grey metro tiles and wood effect floor.

Host & Stay are committed to our owners that their homes are protected during guest bookings. For this reason, we require all our guests to transfer a Damage Deposit (refundable, subject to an administration charge) or, to purchase an Accidental Damage Waiver which will cover you for up to £500.00 of accidental damage during your stay.

Routh Walk is located just a few steps away from the iconic Flowergate, in the centre of Whitby. You will find the flurry of shops, restaurants and bars just a few steps from the front door.

The Blue Flag West Cliff beach and promenade is just a 5-minute walk from the apartment. The famous Trenchers is nearby where you can try traditional Whitby fish and chips! On Pier Road, you’ll find nostalgic arcades which are fun for all ages..

The opposite side of Whitby is full of narrow, medieval streets dotted with boutiques and pubs. Sample the catch of the day in one of the fish restaurants or visit one of the traditional sweet shops for all your candy needs.

Climb the famous 199 steps up to the Church of Saint Mary and the renowned ruined Whitby Abbey, which was the inspiration for Bram Stoker’s gothic novel ‘Dracula’.

Step outside of Whitby and you’ll uncover a haven of woodland and moorland. Whitby forms part of the North York Moors National Park so it’s the perfect place for long walks.

Getting Around
Routh Walk is located in the centre of Whitby so the town can easily be explored on foot.

Whitby train station is just a short 10-minute walk away so villages and towns along the North Yorkshire coast can easily be reached via rail. There’s also a taxi rank in close proximity to the train station.

There are plenty of bus routes throughout Whitby. Hop on the X4 and you can visit beautiful coastal villages like Sandsend, Runswick Bay and Staithes. The X93 travels along the coast to Scarborough. The 95 route features plenty of quaint villages, such as Grosmont and Lealholm.

  • Bed linens
  • Cable TV
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Cleaning Disinfection
  • Coffee maker
  • Cookware
  • Dishes and silverware
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Enhanced cleaning practices
  • Essentials
  • Family/kid friendly
  • First aid kit
  • Free parking on street
  • Hair dryer
  • Hangers
  • Heating
  • High touch surfaces disinfected
  • Hot water
  • Internet
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen
  • Laptop friendly workspace
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pack ’n Play/travel crib
  • Pets allowed
  • Refrigerator
  • Shampoo
  • Smoke detector
  • Stove
  • Suitable for children (2-12 years)
  • Suitable for infants (under 2 years)
  • TV
  • Toaster
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
  • Wireless Internet

Guests have access to the full property. The keys to the property are accessed via a secure key safe and full details will be provided shortly before your arrival date.

A parking scratch card is provided, allowing for free on-street parking in Whitby's 'W' Zone.

Check-in: 16:00

Checkout: 10:00


From the guestbook


(140 Reviews)



Excellent location, very spacious<br/><br/>Cleanliness needed some attention but overall ok for our requirements



It was in a good position.<br/><br/>The fact that you had to buy an insurance against damage bond and only find out how much it cost after payment which you weren't able to cancel. <br/>Also there is a flight of steep stairs up to the flat which was hard to navigate. The windows in the bedroom was very narrow and would be difficult to climb out of if there was a fire, the fire blanket in the kitchen has not been folded away properly. There is a chip in the bathroom sink and the hall carpet is stained.



Location<br/><br/>Bedroom furniture dusty <br/>Back of toilet not fully cleaned



Comfortable and well equipped property in a convenient location



Excellent modern, comfortable apartment in terms of layout, location and facilities. Generally clean and well presented (apart from a couple of key areas).<br/><br/>The hallway carpet to the apartment is filthy - it really should be replaced with hard flooring as per the kitchen/lounge. It’s a bad first impression. Also the sofa is dirty in places. The shower is quite weak which isn’t helped by the fact that the hose was broken and the red piece of electrician’s tape that was wrapped around it didn’t really help. You can get a new hose for about £5 so I’m not sure why this hadn’t been attended to.



Location was fantastic, apartment was well decorated and bright. <br/>Easy access to all local amenities



We loved the Apartment`s location. It's very spacious & clean and dog friendly which was an added bonus.<br/><br/>The host could have provided a few little extras like washing up liquid, scourer, more than 1 dishwasher tablet, dust pan & brush & more loos rolls for 4 guests.



Good location. Comfortable beds. Well equipped<br/><br/>Flight of steep stairs on entry. <br/>Stains on settee and carpets, marks on walls. <br/>Settee not practical for 4 adults



Very fresh, comfy and clean<br/><br/>The shower was very weak and leaked from the pipe/head joint



Great location. Clean and had everything we needed.



Good location<br/><br/>Poor shower



Had it been cleaned, the apartment would be basic but OK.<br/>The central location was ideal.<br/><br/>On arrival, there was not a single sheet of toilet paper anywhere (not great when you arrive late on a Friday night), a.nd the room was full of dog hair, on the settee, all over laminate floors and on carpets in every bedroom. Coffee machine covered in dust with one coffee pod to share between four of us. Further more no sign of parking permit that was promised, and just to cap the weekend off on Saturday night, the TV cabinet fell off the wall. Luckily, nobody was injured.





Great location, great apartment<br/><br/>The carpets were stained but the sofa was covered in stains, some dubious







Location was perfect.<br/>Modern apartment, everything you need<br/><br/>Not very clean.<br/>A flight of stairs as soon as you enter the doorway.



Very modern. Liked the app for the welcome and info<br/><br/>Standard of cleaning was poor. Bathroom in particular felt dirty. The lino was ingrained with stains and hadnt been cleaned around the door and bin where there was hair and dirt. Also there was a stale smell of cigarettes in the bathroom that lingered and never went away. We are not smokers and this had an even bigger impact on us.



The fact that the flat was in a good vicinity to everything we wanted to do it was good not having to use the car for a few days<br/><br/>The flat was dirty and slightly musky smelling. Wr got the impression that the cleaners just come in walk round and then go. The settee was stained the telly didn't work. To say it had been updated well it hasn't been touched for years. There was thick dust on all the skirting boards the carpets were dirty the tap in the kitchen didn't run hot water. The bed we slept in was broken.personally I think the company had a cheek asking for 250.00 pounds we certainly will not be using that business again the outside of the flat had been used as a giant ashtray somebody had left rubbish bags outside the flat seagulls attacked it and rubbish was strewn all over the place





Very good<br/><br/>Minor problem with Wi-Fi



The property has been recently modernised with nice flooring and wall tiles and was very quiet and comfortable, we don’t cook when we go away but the kitchen looked more than adequate.<br/><br/>Little things like loose toilet seat and no curtains to block the morning light, let the place down a bit.





Nice cozy apartment, very well situated in town centre, close to shops pubs and restaurants.<br/>Owner provided parking discs so it is worthy to check good spot to park before accommodation.<br/>I recommend without a doubt.



Great location, comfortable beds and good sized apartment.<br/><br/>My only small gripe is that there was no scratch card for parking in the apartment despite asking ahead for this. Same happened when we stayed there before but we didn’t need it that time. It was delivered when I rang though.



We liked the location and facilities in the property<br/><br/>sofa was not comfortable and the tv will not connect to internet



La amplitud del lugar. La ubicación. La rápida respuesta cuando he contactado. El pueblo en el que está es maravilloso. Los servicios como la wifi, los muchos enchufes por todo el aparramento, la luz del lugar, las amplias ventanas... el equipo en la cocina no falta de nada. Zona muy tranquila, se duerme bien sin ningún ruido.<br/><br/>No estaba limpio a fondo: el horno estaba usado y sin limpiar, la moqueta del pasillo estaba muy, muy sucia y daba muy mala impresión al entrar así como las ventanas. Había algún cabello en la cama y en la ducha. Es como si hubieran pasado a limpiar con prisa. Saqué fotos y las envié y me dijeron que si yo quería podían pasar a limpiar.<br/>No tiene lavadora.<br/>No había champú/gel de ducha.



Location<br/><br/>Would not reccomend and Host & Stay apartment - rubbish company and rubbish accommodation<br/><br/>Wish we’d seen the recent reviews and cancelled, would not recommend, would not stay again. We stayed 28/7-30/7 but I am not able to write this review until 9/8 as they take and hold a £250 damage deposit for such a long time, I had to wait until it was refunded before writing a negative review for fear they would keep it!<br/><br/>As a family born and bred in Whitby, we are so disappointed to think this is the first impression visitors are receiving to our lovely town.<br/><br/>After moving away, we often visit family and stay in great places. We booked here last minute as it was cheap, the pictures looked nice, and it had a decent rating…wish we’d looked properly into the rating and reviews that appeared after we booked!<br/><br/>The ONLY pros are the location and the kitchen space is a decent size.<br/><br/>Here are all the cons, which you’ll see most other reviews have also stated.<br/>- Firstly, the most annoying and ridiculous, is the above mentioned deposit. You cannot check into the apartment without paying a £250 deposit plus an additional non-refundable £10 administration fee. Admittedly, I would have queried this earlier but it is my own fault as I missed the emails as I use a different account for booking.com. On the day of our check in I was looking at how to access the property and found these emails. You then have to fill out a form and then pay the deposit and the admin fee - why am I paying you an admin fee when I’m the one doing all this admin?! They request this deposit from two weeks before check in, but this is then not returned to you until 7 working days after you check out. Three+ weeks without £250 of your own money? This is ridiculous as any checks for any damage should be done as you check out before anyone new checks in, and they do not need to request it that early!



Stayed in this apartment before so knew where everything was and worked<br/><br/>Wasn't as clean as before and starting to look a little scruffy



Large apartment comfy beds<br/><br/>Late check in only





Right in center of Whitby, bedrooms really good size, bedding clean and beds comfortable<br/><br/>Hall carpet really badly stained when you walked in so first impression was not good. Sofa zip was broke so sponge on sofa was visible, could not use freezer on fridge as over frozen with ice



Great where it was situated . Carpark nearby . Comfy beds . Clean bedrooms .<br/><br/>Grubby elsewhere other than the bedrooms. The entrance hall made me want to leave as soon as we opened the front door. Post on the floor. Dirty staircase . Throw on the sofa needs binning . Gross:( bathroom dirty . Floor disgustingly mucky. The vinyl needs binning too ! Grout needs cleaning . Didn't want to use the shower or toilet even . Back of it was filthy . Would we stay again . No . Needs a good clean and bits replacing .



The property was in a good area to walk into town and the beach<br/><br/>Well.... where do I start <br/>The modern taps in the kitchen and bathroom didn't work we had to boil the kettle when we need hot water!! <br/>The toilet seat wasn't the right size <br/>No washing machine <br/>One of the bedrooms had slats broken on the base of the bed. It was also stained!! <br/>Pillows were stained <br/>The bed side table had broken legs and leaning against the wall to hold it up <br/>No wardrobe or draws to put our clothes in <br/>The sofa wasn't that comfortable and had stains on it <br/>There were way to many ceiling lights in the kitchen/ lounge, too bright! <br/>We didn't receive a parking pass and had to find a carpark and pay for 2 days over 24hr period on both days. We did ring Host and Stay and they said they would re-emberse us. That hasn't happened!! <br/>Only one bin bag. <br/>It is such a shame that there were these issues as it was in an area that we could walk to the town and beach. I don't think we will come to this property again. A dissappointing property really. The photo's of the property looked appealing, but in reality it wasn't up to standard.



It was nice, clean, comfortable and the location was perfect. Newly furnished and very cosy.<br/><br/>The sinks were kinda complicated first but you get used to it.



Originally may have been a lovely property in a great location, and a good size, but has not been maintained or kept clean. <br/>The flat was so filthy we had booked for two nights, but only stayed one. Webs and thick dust on windows, sills and furniture. Broken and unsafe furniture (bedside cabinets, shelves, bins). The carpets and sofas were covered in stains, so we avoided sitting on them. Electric tap which wouldn’t work so cold water in the kitchen. The bathroom was the dealbreaker: filthy floor, extractor fan covered in so much dirt that mould was growing on the tiles around it. Grime in the shower washing away into the shower with me. Rusty fittings in the bathroom. Towel rail covered in dust. <br/>Have never stayed anywhere as grubby as this. A shame as it has the potential to be a nice property. <br/>Communication with host & stay was inconsistent (different people responding) and at times dismissive. They offered a reclean but needs a deep clean and some serious maintenance instead.





Great location, nice tidy apartment with decent rooms and nice fitted kitchen. Some minor issues with some of the finishing that is a little cheap, but small issue overall though, great locations - albeit they do need to rethink the communal door.



Very clean and tidy apartment. Great location and easy to find. Close to all amenities.





Staircase frightening<br/><br/>Stairs



the space was nice and although the kitchen was small it did have everything you needed.<br/><br/>the communal hallway stunk of mould which was quite disgusting. the internet was so slow it did not work,also no mobile signal either. they left one roll of toilet paper for 4 people for a two night stay and did not leave any soap in the bathroom. the electric taps were impossible to get any hot water with, I had to boil a kettle to wash my face at night.



Very nice clean property,just refurbished to high standard,bargain stay at bargain price..



Great little place to stay as a family, easy to get to all the attractions.



Kitchen well equipped and functional. Living/dining area is comfortable. Bedrooms nice and cosy. Whole apartment clean and tidy<br/><br/>Service from housekeeping in regard to leaving parking scratch cards was negligent resulting in us having to pay out £18 for pay and display parking. We had no idea when the cards would be delivered as we were told they would be there Monday morning. This never happened and it was not until later in the afternoon that they were deposited into the key safe. This was too late for us to use them and was forced to use the Council car park again



Location. Modern.<br/><br/>Stains on carpet and bathroom flooring, not very clean throughout. Lack of hot water via taps in both kitchen and bathroom. Excessive deposit required AFTER booking. Fresh paint in hallway on arrival, painter actually present on our arrival.



The property was in a very good location.<br/>The cleanliness of the property bathroom was in need of a good clean. The vinyl floor in the bathroom was very dirty. The tiles in the shower were black mould ..the shower head was again black. The need to scrub the bathroom before using it was definately something we had to do. The hallway carpets with full of stain as was the sofa in the living room. The bedrooms were the best rooms very clean simple amd comfy beds. <br/>The tap in the kitchen was not working...four adults could not get the tap to give hot water. A simple tap would be a suggestion.







Spacious, comfortable apartment in great location



good location. comfortable beds. most of what we would need was in the apartment<br/><br/>The shower head and shower wall were very dirty and no hot water in kitchen or bathroom taps. both of these concerns it seems have been raised over the past two years and not attended to. The digital control on the taps is not functioning. Also no information on the use of the microwave that was a struggle to use. For a four person apartment there is only space for three people to sit in the lounge area. I would imagine that parking a vehicle in the summer would be a nightmare





apartment was lovely and warm on arrival good size rooms<br/><br/>sink in bathroom was blocked hot water taps did not work shower head was very dirty





lovely location, tidy apartment with problems.<br/><br/>Carpets and sofa extremely dirty looked like multiple pet stains behind the door in bedrooms too messaged host & stay as deposit required for spillages etc… extremely cold hence being winter radiators should of been left on prior to our arrival as it took a day to warm up to a suitable temperature so that we could take off our coats indoors. tap in kitchen didn’t heat up either only cold water running.









very clean and well equipped. in brill location







The location, kitchen and living room, heating worked well. Very spacious as well. <br/>Comfortable sofa<br/>Coffee machine useful and good TV set up<br/><br/>Misleading internet log on instructions....we resolved ourselves but it took over 24 hours to resolve.<br/>No hot water to kitchen tap<br/>Shower pressure poor<br/>Dirty skirting boards and marked carpets <br/>Lack of storage space in bedrooms





Nice and clean place to stay.



Great location and will stay here again



cannot comment as we were unable to gain access<br/><br/>unable to gain access



good location.<br/><br/>when we arrived we had trouble getting in the key box and then the agent or cleaning was on site but had to go to the car when she came back point to the key box which was open and said did we do it that’s no way to be greeted holiday people coming to stay, ( the lady said we had the wrong password so she fix us up with password not sure if it was to replace the old 1 or new password never said to use it for how stay so when we were leavening to couldn’t open the key box did try phone the office twice did get a reply so the safe place was in the flat I am sure the the agent or cleaners have master key did have a message on my phone when got home don’t use my phone when driving, so why Have I been changed extra £35.








Central location, good facilities including Sky TV<br/><br/>Only given 2 day parking permit for 3 night stay, hot water did not work in kitchen, toilet seat dirty when arrived, bathroom fan dusty, living room furniture flimsy. Contact afterwards suggesting that we pulled a radiator off the wall absolutely ruined our experience and will never use this property again. Feel insulted and treated like children, did not use the radiators and when challenged back did not say which radiator and it was fixed. I think we would have noticed if a radiator had fell off the wall.



The property was nicely furnished and had everything needed for a short stay. in a really nice location just a few minutes walk from the harbour.<br/><br/>The only slight niggle was that 3 bags of linen and rubbish was left in the apartment when we got there and although I contacted the owners about it, it wasn’t collected when they said it would. There was also no parking scratch card as advertised however when I contacted the owners, they immediately arranged for the parking we paid for to be reimbursed.



The location was fantastic right in the centre of Whitby, it was very handy. The apartment was beautiful.<br/><br/>The seatee was very uncomfortable and there was a smell of damp near the door but I believe there has been a leak somewhere in the building

Alan & Joy


Routh Walk was a 4star stay for us and our 80+ year old father. it would have been 5star but for the very steep stairway to the level 1 flat, and the fact the it was missing promised teabags + coffepods and needs a solid scrubbing from wear and tear.<br/><br/>Also the name of the laneway and flat are the same; save yourself the issue of wandering up and down looking for the number as the flat is on the left near the laneway entry.<br/><br/>It was terrific to be a nearby (but steep) walk to the waterfront and it is only a few blocks from Whitby's famous whalebone arch, right next to shops + pubs too.<br/><br/>The bedrooms were larger than expected and comfy beds. The expected small bathroom was unexpectedly echo-y and be aware that anyone in the lounge can hear ablutions. The lounge is quite small but then again why are you staying inside instead of enjoying the sites and sounds of the town?<br/><br/>Kitchen was unexpectedly biggish and would have been good to have had info to local grocers. There is an info kit which was helpful.



Excellent location<br/>Comfortable beds<br/>Well equipped kitchen<br/>Very clean <br/>Modern decor<br/>Dog friendly<br/><br/>no lock on toilet door<br/>hall carpet could do with a clean<br/>rusty toilet brush needs replacing



The cleanliness and location. The beds are really comfortable and the living areas are easy for relaxing in.<br/><br/>The area inside the downstairs entrance is a little tight if you have decent sized cases to get in or out.



Fantastic location in Whitby with plenty of cafes and places to eat on the doorstep. <br/>Lots of space and a very comfortable apartment with great beds and a fully equipped kitchen and boutique style bathroom. <br/>All TV needs catered for too. <br/><br/>Quite steep stairs from the street to the first floor so be aware if you’re not too good on your legs. <br/><br/>Thoroughly enjoyed staying here and it’s minutes from the seafront without being noisy.





In an apartment so no breakfast provided. Location right in the middle of Whitby so that was very good. The support staff who dealt with any problems we had were excellent, so friendly and kind,<br/><br/>Little things such as a sweeping brush so we could have left the property tidier but apart from that everything lovely.



Very modern and comfortable apartment in Central Whitby.<br/>Communication was very good throughout.





Spacious , good facilities eg cooker , sky TV<br/><br/>Couldn't get kitchen tap to work properly <br/>Toilet brush was ugh!<br/>Steep stairs



Couldn't get hot water at the kitchen sink!



Bedrooms were large and very comfortable<br/><br/>The taps, some fancy self heating thing. Hard to get hot water to wash up







Spacious apartment <br/>Modern & clean & a 5 minute walk to town centre<br/><br/>Banks<br/>Walking up steep hill



large living rooms, kept clean<br/><br/>The apartments are heated by electric heaters. We arrived late in the evening, it was very cold, it took 8 hours for the room temperature to reach a comfortable level. It would be nice if the staff turnn on the heating earlier before the arrival of guests in the cold months. Extra blankets would come in handy. We had problems with the toilet blocked, but thankfully the maintenance team reacted quickly and fixed the fault within 30 minutes.



Location, instalations, confort.<br/><br/>Neighbourhood a little noisy.





Dissapointing, not worth the price WITH added £50 CLEANING CHARGE as it was not clean!!



The property is in an excellent location, central to Whitby and on a quiet side street. It is clean and tidy. Very nice touch that there was tea coffee and a pint of milk provided<br/><br/>Very noisy from adjoining properties. Absolutely no sound proofing at all. When the occupants below sneezed it sounded like they were sitting right next to us. This obviously ruined our peaceful enjoyment as you could hear absolutely everything in the flat below










Everywhere was very clean and comfortable.<br/><br/>The entrance stairs were very steep and unfortunately there was a leak so had buckets on then which made it a bit of a risk getting up and down



Nothing<br/><br/>This place is really not very nice at all. <br/>I can’t get the taps to run hot water - and as I have a circulation problem this has been deeply unpleasant to wash this morning. <br/>There is a dreadful smell of sewage. <br/>All in all very grubby, cold and uncomfortable. The carpets were filthy, the building sinks smelt also. The bed was awful, I had requested a feather pillow, but was told this was not possible. So thankfully took my own. I was charged an additional amount to park at the ‘free’ parking which was too far away, and on an ad-hoc set up. This wasn’t made clear at all. How can we rectify this? It was a great location - Whitby - but it needs to have someone look at the failings here. Finally the loo paper was like sandpaper. Just a very unfortunate experience.







Good location<br/><br/>Rusty toilet brush and toilet roll holder but everything else was spot on



Lovely and cosy apartment in the heart of Whitby! The beds were so comfy and the kitchen was well-equipped.<br/>So much detailed information for check-in and parking which was great.



The property was modern good location would stay there again<br/><br/>Didn’t like that the grill was dirty not been cleaned which the cleaning staff should have checked. The stairs up to the property had a fusty and dam smell, needs some air freshers



Spacious <br/>Fast response from owners when there was an issue<br/><br/>There was a leak in communal entrance - which we reported to owners



Steep stairs to access the apartment. Entrance not nice and mouldy smell. We were only left a parking scratch card for 2 days when we were staying for 4 nights.<br/><br/>Comfy beds. Great location.



The apartment it's self was very nice. Well equipped and nicely decorated.<br/><br/>When you walk in the front door the smell of mould and damp is shocking and when you look up at the top of the stairs there are massive patches of mould and damp. Not nice at all.



Flat was well kitted out and very comfortable.<br/>Location was great.<br/><br/>Entrance hall was a bit cramped and damp. Having the main street door locked with no quick fire escape seemed a bit risky.



Nice apartment. Would go back anytime<br/><br/>No lock on the toilet door





The furnishings of the apartment were great - modern and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the duvet / pillows were good quality. <br/>There were some issues with our stay as described below and I informed the letting agent - they were very polite and helpful. There was also a lot of information prior to arrival that was very useful. <br/>Therefore even considering the issues, we would stay with this agent again.<br/><br/>There were some items of cleanliness that we didn’t think were up to scratch for the cost of the property. The oven was very dirty, dusty headboard, torn towel and very dirty shower head. The accommodation is on the high price point for Whitby (we visit every 2 months staying in different places) so we expected a higher standard of cleanliness. <br/>In addition, there were no drinks facilities on arrival - there was 1 teabag and no sugar in the pots. <br/>The stairs were quite steep to the accommodation.



I'd just advise anyone booking this apartment to read the booking conditions, as I am fully vaccinated but tested positive for covid 2 days before our stay and was told we couldn't change the date or get any refund, personally I think this is bad form in covid times. I personally wouldn't book this apartment again but will always book one with flexibility.



fantastic apartment very clean and well equipped





nice modern place



Everything! very comfy beds and well equipped kitchen. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend or return<br/><br/>water leak dripping very heavily onto the stairs in the common hallway area (NOT in our apartment) when it was raining. Very helpful staff - understand it’s on the list to be repaired. And suggest to mention to future guests to bring their own coffee/Nespresso pods for the coffee machine!!



The apartment was in a great location...right in the centre. It was a minute walk to coffee shops and amenities.<br/>The beach wasn't far away either, probably about a 10 minute walk.<br/>The apartment was really clean and comfortable. Would definatley book again<br/><br/>The only downside to the apartment... Was that it was awkward to find and with parking in Whitby being abit of a nightmare anyway, it made it difficult to carry all of our cases etc down to the apartment from where we eventually found a space. The lane that the apartment is situated on is very skinny... So didn't want to drive the car up it. <br/>Also with the apartments being upstairs, it was abit of a faff carrying a pram up and down. But that was my fault for not realising it was not on ground level.



Good facilities. Excellent location. Clean spacious bedrooms.<br/><br/>Sofa could do with a clean.



Spacious<br/>Very comfy beds<br/>Good facilities<br/>Great location<br/><br/>Included a Tassimo, but only 2 pods<br/>The property entrance has bad damp and a steep flight of stairs. This gives a poor first impression. The apartment itself is very clean and modern. <br/>Seating for children is a little restrictive.



Size and location<br/><br/>There was quite a lot of sand on the living room floor when we got there. We hadn’t been anywhere near the beach. We had to sweep it up ?



The property was fresh, modern and well equipped. There is everything you could need to self-cater and enjoy a nice break from home! The location is perfect and is walking distance from all the Whitby sites.<br/><br/>The shower wasn’t very powerful and there was a lot of black mildew and mould build up around the seals to the floor. <br/><br/>The property is near lots of parking but it’s first come- first served. Just be mindful that you could end up parking about 10 min walk away from the apartment. We didn’t mind but if you’re with children / bags / low mobility just something to be mindful of.



Clean, tidy & modern - what more could you ask for



Comfortable and well equipt appartment. Spacious bedrooms and comfortable beds.<br/><br/>The electronic taps were a bit weird and the steps to get into the apparment are quite steep. We are not too old so managed them!



Excellent service all round.<br/>Communication with apartment owners was easy and replied within 15/20 min every time.<br/>Location was great, there was parking available behind the property just a short 2 min walk with the bags to the door.<br/>Key safe was located right next to the entrance, received a text confirming the code and was told as soon as I found the keys in there we were welcome to let ourselves in! <br/>This was handy as we arrived early in the morning, so we’re able to gain access a lot earlier than the 3pm stated in the terms and conditions.<br/>Facility’s inside the property were of a high standard and most importantly very clean! <br/>Lots of helpful information was found in the kitchen with locations for bars/ restaurants and other areas of interest.<br/>We will 100% be using again, and have already recommended the property to family and friends interested in visiting Whitby! <br/>An overall easy, hassle free way to start a bank holiday vacation for us!<br/><br/>The only fault I could see being an issue would be the size of the cat park available at the rear of the property! <br/>It wasn’t an issue for us as we arrived very early and managed to get a spot but should we not have been so lucky, the locations of the other car parks were unknown. So could have been a further walk than 2mins! <br/>Just something to bear in mind, to check pre travel at other options near by!





Everything. It was perfect.<br/><br/>No complaints at all. Clean, comfortable, close to all amenities. Perfect for our stay. Will definitely go again.



Very good location & the apartment had everything we needed and was very clean & modern.<br/><br/>Only one small negative, the shower wasn’t very good, no power to it at all.





Really great and well located place. Very stylish and incredibly comfortable beds and we spent snoozey evenings very happily in the flat. A little milk had been left for us to make a much needed cuppa on arrival. For those that don’t know Whitby, Routh Walk is just off Skinner St, which has a few lovely eateries, Botham’s (the bakery of dreams) and is at the top of Flowergate which leads down to the swingbridge and the Old town. The scratch card for parking was a godsend as Whitby is notoriously tricky for parking.



Overall the property is clean, very well equipped, and in a great central location. The bed was comfy but the blinds let light in so we woke quite early each day. There are unnecessary mod cons such as electric taps and the heating wasn't very effective. Would recommend a trip to Robin Hood's Bay.



Great location

Tracey M.


Was an amazing apartment, done to a fantasic spec , hats off to the host. Great placed perfect location , could want for nothing more .<br><br>Thank you for having us



Great location and comfortable stay.



Lovely modern apartment with great amenities in a good location



Immaculately clean, modern flat. This is a professional operation. Excellent.

Verified traveler


Fantastic stay, great location, apartment was super modern, clean and comfortable



Excellent apartment, clean tidy, fully equipped. Host was excellent and communication very good.



Fantastic apartment, very central. Was impeccably clean and the beds were super comfortable. Great amenities also. Would definitely recommend!



Beautifully furnished two bedroom apartment in Whitby town. Comes with everything you need for a relaxed stay and spotlessly clean. Car parking in the high season is impossible near the apartment. We had to park at the main car park at the bottom of town for our entire stay. This means you have quite a steep climb to the apartment from the harbour so bear this in mind if you are someone with mobility issues.



Really lovely place, only issue was not a great water pressure



Stayed for one night, exactly as described on listing. Very clean and great communication. An easy stay. Would recommend.



Very comfortable, clean, central and modern flat. We absolutely loved the place and would love to come back. It made our vusit to Whitby for special occasion even more memorable. Thanks!



Flat smells new and fresh. Very clean, modern and great location. I had a very good 2 nights stay. I recommend it!

Home Truths

Free parking is provided but this will be a few moments from the property.

Routh Walk is located on the first floor and the building doesn't have a lift, so you will need to climb stairs to reach the apartment door.


Via Social Media

Newsletter Sign Up


Sign Up

Get updates and inspiration straight to your inbox