The Royal Hideaway

Whitby

4.26

(44 Reviews)

5 guests

2 bedrooms

4 beds

2 bathrooms

Property Overview

The Royal Hideaway is a newly renovated apartment located on the west cliff in Whitby. This bright and spacious apartment sleeps up to five guests and benefits from private outdoor space and onsite parking for one vehicle.
The Royal Hideaway is perfect for families or friends with a bed configuration of one king and three singles. Enjoy all that Whitby has to offer with this modern apartment as your base.

;

Property Details

The Space
This 2 bedroom apartment is perfect for a family or group of friends looking to explore the stunning scenery of Whitby. The property is located close to the sea on the West Cliff and is within walking distance of the towns amenities.

The property features an open-plan living, dining, and kitchen area, where the moment you step in you will appreciate the property's brightness and modern interiors. The newly renovated living room is a lovely space to relax in after a day of exploring. The dining area is spacious and perfect for sharing with your group.

The first bedroom is a spacious and well-furnished master bedroom containing a sumptuous king-size bed. Alongside the bedroom you will find a private en-suite bathroom featuring a shower, WC and basin. The second bedroom is a pleasant room with three single beds. Both bedrooms have places to store your personal items.

The master bathroom is a neutral coloured space with a shower, WC and basin.

The apartment benefits from on site private parking for one car and a private, peaceful yard area with outdoor furniture.

If you are looking for a comfortable apartment close to everything Whitby has to offer then The Royal Hideaway is a great choice.

Host & Stay are committed to our owners that their homes are protected during guest bookings. For this reason, we require all our guests to transfer a Damage Deposit (refundable, subject to an administration charge) or, to purchase an Accidental Damage Waiver which will cover you for up to £500.00 of accidental damage during your stay.

Neighborhood
Set on the West side of Whitby, The Royal Hideaway is just a short 10-minute walk into the centre of town. Head to Pier Road and you’ll find cosy pubs, fun arcades and plenty of fish restaurants. Continue along the lively road until you reach the beautiful, blue flag West Cliff Beach which is lined with idyllic beach huts. At the other end of Pier Road, you’ll notice the swing bridge which sits over the River Esk.

Over the bridge, you’ll find yourself on the East bank which is full of narrow medieval streets dotted with boutiques, pubs and fish restaurants. Climb the famous 199 steps up to the Church of Saint Mary. You can also discover the renowned ruined Whitby Abbey, which was the inspiration for Bram Stoker’s gothic novel ‘Dracula’.

Step outside of Whitby and you’ll uncover a haven of woodland and moorland. Whitby forms part of the North York Moors National Park so it’s the perfect place for long walks.

Getting Around
The centre of Whitby is a short ten-minute walk from The Royal Hideaway.

Whitby train station is less than half a mile away so villages and towns along the North Yorkshire coast can easily be reached via rail. There’s also a taxi rank in close proximity to the train station.

There are plenty of bus routes throughout Whitby. Hop on the X4 and you can visit beautiful coastal villages like Sandsend, Runswick Bay and Staithes. The X93 travels along the coast to Scarborough. The 95 route features plenty of quaint villages, such as Grosmont and Lealholm.

  • Bed linens
  • Cleaning Disinfection
  • Cookware
  • Dishes and silverware
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Enhanced cleaning practices
  • Essentials
  • Family/kid friendly
  • First aid kit
  • Free parking on premises
  • Garden or backyard
  • Hair dryer
  • Hangers
  • Heating
  • High touch surfaces disinfected
  • Hot water
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Near Ocean
  • Oven
  • Patio or balcony
  • Pets allowed
  • Refrigerator
  • Shampoo
  • Smoke detector
  • Stove
  • Suitable for children (2-12 years)
  • Suitable for infants (under 2 years)
  • TV
  • Toaster
  • Towels provided
  • Town
  • Washer
  • Wide clearance to bed
  • Wireless Internet

Guests have access to the full property. The keys to the property are accessed via a secure key safe and full details will be provided shortly before your arrival date.

There is private parking for one car at the rear of the property and a peaceful private yard area with outdoor furniture.

Check-in: 16:00

Checkout: 10:00

Virtual Tour

Guest Reviews

4.26

(44 Reviews)

Lesley

09/06/2024

Stephen

24/05/2024

The apartment was as advertised and very clean and comfortable and having a lift was a real bonus. We enjoyed our stay here with plenty of space to relax after enjoying Whitby.

Chris

29/04/2024

Stephen

13/04/2024

Soft furnishings were not cleaned. <br/>We had to hoover the two sofas which had hair and crumbs on them.

Gail

28/03/2024

Leigh

25/11/2023

Good value for money, well equipped, comfortable, warm and great location being close to town centre.<br/><br/>Intermittent bad smell from shower drain in en suite..Need a mirror and small dressing table in second bedroom.

Emma

22/09/2023

Lynn

25/08/2023

We loved Royal Crescent and being in an apartment as apposed to a hotel. It was very clean apart from an issue with some damp which I passed onto booking.com.<br/><br/>The second bedroom had no mirror which was a issue for me and the wardrobe was very small...child size which was odd considering there were 3 single beds in the room.<br/><br/>There was a random cupboard which had damp and was smelly and some damp on the ceiling and around the window in living area

Tracy

14/08/2023

Great location modern clean value for money.<br/><br/>We were two couples and one room was all single beds

Madeinlia

31/07/2023

Spacious and welcoming flat, comfortable beds, ample living space with two bathrooms. Also, we appreciated the dedicated parking space. Great location for the beach and town. Keys and keycodes were extremely handy for our group. Highly recommended.<br/><br/>We missed the sign at the back when trying to find the parking space as we couldn't work out which building was number 14. Also we didn't realise there was a back entrance to the building until the end of the first day, which would have been handy to know about when unloading the car.

Lucy

28/07/2023

The Royal Hideaway is a lovely apartment based a stones throw away from all of Whitby's fabulous attractions. There are a couple of points to mention though, the kitchen, whilst a good size in comparison to the rest of the apartment, seemed under-equipped for the size of parties that can stay there - we were not short of plates and cutlery, but pans and other utensils were almost absent.<br/>When we arrived, we were surprised to discover it was a basement apartment, while not a problem in itself, we would have thought it would be mentioned in the main listing.<br/>A massive plus point is the included parking space, however had it not been for reading a previous review, we probably wouldn't have found it - again, we were surprised that clearer directions to the space were not in the main listing.<br/>With all that being said, we had a wonderful family holiday and would more than likely book The Royal Hideaway in the future if we were to visit the area again.

Christina W.

22/07/2023

The place was brilliant, the only down side was the children in the apartment above who 'ran a lot and played ball at other times'

Kevin

16/07/2023

Location <br/>Car parking facility <br/>Nicely decorated and furnished<br/><br/>House keeping <br/>Noise from above apartment <br/>Damp and urine smells in storeroom and toilets <br/>Only supplied with one key for the apartment door

Joanna

11/07/2023

Everything

Freddie O

10/07/2023

great location and a lovely modern apartment. Has everything you need and feels fresh and new. There is some mould in the cupboard but it isn't a big issue as the rest of the house is in great condition.

Graham

27/06/2023

4 of us had a lovely stay at this basement flat in Whitby. Great location in a modern, renovated flat.

Chris

21/06/2023

Gordon N

18/06/2023

This property flatters to deceive. The main lounge furniture and fittings are as described however there are underlying issues which need to be addressed by the management which have previously been reported on Vrbo site and still not rectified. 1. The shower cubicle smells of stagnant water and pervades the whole apartment 2. The store cupboard is full of mould on the ceiling and the ironing board is unusable being covered in mould also 3. The outside space is filthy with bird excrement on chairs and table 4. Crumbs were found in the cupboard which suggest the it has been poorly cleaned or not cleaned at all (£50 cleaning fee charged) Lesser issues include no hanging facilities in the second bedroom and no dishwasher tablets could be found.

Gordon N.

17/06/2023

The property flattered to deceive.<br>Furniture and fittings were fine but soon discovered underlying problems: cupboards were not clean and crumbs found inside<br>Mould in store cupboard , mould on ironing board making it unusable , shower smelled musty and there was stagnant water. The outside area was not cleaned and there was bird muck on the table and chairs.<br>We were not advised that this was a basement flat and there was also limited views outside.<br>The mould and sewer issues have been identified previously but have not been addressed.<br>Photos are available on request!!

Justyna

11/06/2023

Nice, clean place. Good location

Simon

11/06/2023

The price you pay to Booking.com is NOT the final price

Stephen

08/06/2023

Philip

08/06/2023

good size, lots of space and modern.<br/><br/>Bathroom extractor said ‘delayed start’ but we never saw it start so it was always damp. we had some issues and the management company replied and just said they passed it on to the relevant department (bathroom mirror was hanging off the wall when we arrived)

Chris108Knave

08/06/2023

Stayed here for a week, had a great stay. Its a modern apartment with everything you could need.Bigger than other apartments I have stayed in Whitby and definitely more modern and up to date. Excellent location, short walk to the harbour and even shorter walk to the beach. Having parking is a must for us so the fact it had a parking space was excellent. It has everything you need

Richard

29/05/2023

Good location, modern and spacious apartment with private parking.

Deb F

09/05/2023

The Good - nicely decorated spacious flat, great location , handy to have a parking space, good app with useful info The Bad - both bathrooms absolutely stink - damp/stagnant water - had to keep door shut to bedroom as it made that room smell as well when we didn't. It wasn't very clean - crumbs and stains in fridge, sticky fingerprints on fridge door, surfaces in bedroom dusty. Not enough and very cheap hangers that clothes kept falling off. No washing up liquid or dishwasher tablet provided. No bin bags provided. Too many communications to tell us we must be out by 10am, when we got a text, after several emails, at 8am in the morning we felt really pushed out and unwelcome. We would have liked to have used the outside patio but it was dirty and unpleasant. its a nice looking apartment but let down by all of the above, esp the smelly bathrooms. Also the back of the bathroom doors could do with a hook, there is no where to use as a dressing table and no mirror or hanging space in second bedroom so its really only suitable for children as is. Not being able to get in until 4pm and having to leave at 10am cuts into the time you feel you have paid for. It was pointless complaining about the smells and dirty kitchen at the time as they couldn’t do anything and we had food to put away so cleaned fridge ourselves. On giving feedback the company’s response has been poor, despite the fact we paid extra for cleaning and the apartment wasn’t clean, they refused any refund or compensation saying we should have called the office at the time so they could have put things right - which they couldn’t have done, those smells are a long term issue. They only offered a discount on another stay - which funny enough we weren’t keen on! Because of all the above, we wouldn't stay again or recommend which is a shame as it has great potential.

Brendan

08/05/2023

nicely decorated spacious flat, great location , handy to have a parking space, good app with useful info<br/><br/>Both bathrooms absolutely stink - damp/stagnant water - had to keep door shut to bedroom as it made that smell as well when we didn't. It wasn't very clean - crumbs and stains in fridge, sticky fingerprints on fridge door, surfaces in bedroom dusty. Not enough and very cheap hangers that clothes kept falling off. No washing up liquid or dishwasher tablet provided. No bin bags provided. Too many communications to tell us we must be out by 10am, when we got the text at 8am this morning we felt really unwelcome and pushed out . We would have liked to have used the outside patio but it was dirty and unpleasant. <br/>Its a nice apartment but let down by all of the above, esp the smelly bathrooms. Some points may only seem small points but they make a big difference. Also the back of the bathroom door could do with a hook, there is no where to use as a dressing table and no mirror or hanging space in second bedroom so its really only suitable for children as is. Not being able to get in until 4pm and having to leave at 10am cuts into the time you feel you have paid for and considering the cost and extra cleaning charges etc we felt it was poor value for money.

Erica

25/04/2023

parking space. 2 bathrooms<br/><br/>didn’t realise that it’s location on West Cliff was so high above the main town.

Victoria

17/04/2023

Location ideal for the beach/ gardens/ walking with the dog & pleasant short walk into town. Having an allocated parking space was a massive bonus/ very convenient. 2 bathrooms was very useful when we were all getting ready.<br/>Kitchen was really well equipped; my husband was able to make a Sunday Dinner with no issues.<br/>Newly decorated & beautifully clean.<br/><br/>There was only enough hot water for 2 ppl to have a shower then we had to switch on the boost button on the boiler & wait a while for other 2 ppl to have one.<br/>There was a storage cupboard off the kitchen under the outside steps with utility items eg an ironing board, but unfortunately the whole cupboard had a really bad damp problem with mould growing on the walls, ceiling & all over the ironing board cover, rendering it useless. Having a washing machine was great, but providing a drying rack would be really helpful.

Sarah

02/04/2023

Great place to stay for the weekend. photos show the apartment exactly. We didn't realise it was at basement level but the windows are still big enough to see the road and sea.<br/>Very clean apartment on arrival. We'd recommend to others that they bring all essentials e.g. cooking oil, handwash etc.<br/>Instructions on where the parking space is would be useful for future guests - it's under an arch round the back of the apartment complex.

Catherine

17/01/2023

Comfortable with everything we needed, very well equipped. <br/>Great location easy walk to town centre<br/><br/>Struggled with enough hot water for 4 people to shower, no instructions but discovered the boost button. Not a major issue though as great break

Shelley

19/12/2022

Really enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was warm and comfortable. The location was brilliant with a car parking space available at the property. We will definitely be back.

Robyn

23/11/2022

There could have been some clearer instructions about how to find the back of the property and the parking space, and the fact that there was a back door available too.<br/>The property was lovely, exactly as described and shown, the only thing that massively let it down was the quality of bed/mattress. They are the cheapest possible mattress you could find and really really uncomfortable, after a couple of days we had severe back pain. Other than that it was great, lovely that some milk tea and coffee was provided, this is very rare in most rental properties. Overall had a great stay

Michelle

23/09/2022

Great accommodation, spacious clean apartment, has been kitted out to a high spec. Great location on West Cliff giving easy access to the town. Also useful to have a dedicated parking space at the back of the property

Carol

18/09/2022

Comfortable stay apartment finished to a high standard. All modern facilities Great location parking space for one car. Would highly reccomend .We have stayed in many places across Whitby but this was by far the best.

William

09/09/2022

The accommodation was fine that’s twice we have stayed in past couple of months but the price was up a hundred pounds<br/><br/>There was a shortage of toilet roll which we went and bought the bedroom door is tight it needed planing and on suite does to it would not close this is in flat 2

Abigail

31/08/2022

The property was well located, very spacious inside, nicely decorated and clean. An entrance from the back of the property where there is a parking space which was very handy too. Communication from property owners ahead and during the stay was also good.<br/><br/>With it being a lower ground floor property you could hear the noise of moving about above. In the main it was fine, but on our last night it was very noisy, sounded like people moving furniture around quiet late into the night. It wouldn’t stop me booking again though.

Gamil

19/08/2022

clean and everything new<br/><br/>not enough bins in the property

Janice

15/08/2022

Apartment was excellent good location well equipped. Bonus was a free parking space. Really enjoyed our stay & would certainly return

Thomas

12/08/2022

The apartment was so lovely and conveniently placed. it is so modern and the parking is a huge bonus! <br/>would definitely go back.

Becky

05/08/2022

Excellent apartment and service.<br/>Really good location in the town of Whitby and great value for money.<br/>We would definitely return to this property if it became available for our next stay.

Emma

01/08/2022

Fantastic brand new apartment in brilliant location

William

31/07/2022

Everything was great will be back<br/><br/>Struggled to park second day somebody else was in our place and not easy to find anyone

Martin

28/07/2022

Really enjoyed our stay here in West Cliff part of Whitby. Apartment was clean and tidy, and exactly as depicted in photos and description. Everything we needed for a base to discover Whitby and the surrounding area.

Still have some questions?

Speak to a member of our team

More properties picked just for you

Still looking for your perfect property? Explore more of our properties...

Newsletter Sign Up

Newsletter

Sign Up

Get updates and inspiration straight to your inbox