10 guests

5 bedrooms

5 beds

3 bathrooms

The Coach House

in Whitby


(125 Reviews)

Set high on the cliff tops overlooking the town centre, The Coach House is a charming property wrapped in history. Located on the site of the infamous Whitby Abbey, this holiday home is like no other. Sleeping up to 10 guests, this unique cottage is perfect for families and groups of friends looking for a break on the coast.

Trip Details

Property Highlight #1

Within the Grounds of Whitby Abbey

On your approach to The Coach House you will quickly see that the property is nestled high upon Whitby's East Cliff and directly under the gaze of Whitby's infamous Abbey.

Property Highlight #2

Stunning Coastline Views

The Coach House boasts stunning views of the harbour, town and along the coastline towards Sandsend.

Property Highlight #3

Steeped in History

Dating back to the 1700's, The Grade I listed Coach House retains original features such as the internal sandstone staircase, and high exposed beams.

The Space
The Coach House is a Grade I listed building dating back to the 1700s. It has been tastefully transformed with stylish interiors and premium furnishings which contrast perfectly with original stone walls and beautiful exposed beams. As soon as step foot into the impressive house, you’ll get the wow factor!

Downstairs you’ll find the fully equipped, modern kitchen. There is a sense of balance as old meets new. Glossy kitchen cabinets are paired with vintage looking appliances. A sleek black sink sits in front of windows showcasing views of Whitby Abbey. A neutral colour scheme works with the brown exposed beams in the ceiling. It is as charming as it is practical with a dishwasher, fridge, washing machine, cooker, kettle, microwave and toaster. There is even a coffee machine so you can enjoy a fresh coffee each morning! The dining area is a minimalistic space with plenty of style. The huge dining table is ideal for family breakfasts and meals with friends. There is a real focus on spending quality time with loved ones at The Coach House which is why the kitchen and dining area are open so guests can flow throughout both spaces easily. From the dining area, you’ll find the living room. With plush velvet sofas, gold accents and a flat screen TV mounted to the wall, this part of the house is full of glamour and luxury. Intriguing artwork can be found on the walls and incredible views of the Abbey can be seen from the windows. Kick back on the sofa after a long day of exploring Whitby or gather your friends and family together for games and laughter. Head up the stone stairs and you’ll find three bedrooms and the main bathroom on the first floor. Each bedroom has a relaxing and homely feel. You can expect a comfy night’s sleep as each room has large, comfortable beds and quality linen. One of the bedrooms also features an en suite with a large walk in shower. The main bathroom has a monochromatic style with white tiles and matt black accessories. The free-standing bathtub has an overhead shower and there is also a chic vanity cabinet with a sink. Head up the stone staircase again to the second floor. Here you’ll find two bedrooms and a separate WC. The hallway is spacious and features a cosy nook with a seating area. Both bedrooms have impressive sloped ceilings with original exposed beams and breath-taking views across Whitby. With original wooden floors, ample space and large, plush beds – both bedrooms have a truly tranquil feel. One of the bedrooms also has a sophisticated en suite which features a free-standing bathtub and overhead shower as well as jade green tiles and gold lights.

Host & Stay are committed to our owners that their homes are protected during bookings. For this reason, we require all of our guests to transfer a £250.00 Damage Deposit (subject to a £10.00 administration charge) or, to purchase an Accidental Damage Waiver for £25.00 which will cover you for up to £500.00 of accidental damage during your stay.

The Coach House is located on the East Cliff near the incredible Whitby Abbey. To get to the property, you pass through the grounds of the beautiful Grade II listed Abbey House, which was originally a monastic building until it was granted to the Cholmley family in 1541. You’ll be amongst plenty of history. Whitby Abbey was originally a 7th-century monastery and it even went on to inspire Bram Stoker’s famous gothic novel ‘Dracula’. Below, the East side of town is full of narrow, medieval streets dotted with boutiques, pubs and fish restaurants. Head over the swing bridge which sits over the River Esk and you’ll find yourself on the West side of Whitby. Continue to Pier Road and you’ll find more cosy pubs and restaurants as well as fun arcades. Continue along the lively road until you reach the beautiful, blue flag West Cliff Beach which is lined with idyllic beach huts. Step outside of Whitby and you’ll uncover a haven of woodland and moorland. Whitby forms part of the North York Moors National Park so it’s the perfect place for long walks.

Getting Around
The centre of Whitby is a short ten-minute walk from The Coach House. Whitby train station half a mile away on foot so villages and towns along the North Yorkshire coast can easily be reached via rail. There’s also a taxi rank in close proximity to the train station. There are plenty of bus routes throughout Whitby. Hop on the X4 and you can visit beautiful coastal villages like Sandsend, Runswick Bay and Staithes. The X93 travels along the coast to Scarborough. The 95 route features plenty of quaint villages, such as Grosmont and Lealholm.

  • TV
  • Cable TV
  • Wireless Internet
  • Kitchen
  • Free parking on premises
  • Heating
  • Washer
  • Smoke detector
  • Carbon monoxide detector
  • Essentials
  • Shampoo
  • Hangers
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron and Ironing board
  • Laptop friendly workspace
  • Private entrance
  • Bathtub
  • Hot water
  • Bed linens
  • Extra pillows and blankets
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes and silverware
  • Cookware
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Patio or balcony
  • Garden or backyard
  • Long term stays allowed
  • Kettle
  • Internet
  • Toaster
  • Towels provided
  • Free parking on street > Street parking
  • Family/kid friendly
  • First aid kit
  • Path to entrance lit at night
  • Crib
  • Pets allowed
  • Suitable for children (2-12 years)
  • Suitable for infants (under 2 years)

Guests have access to the full property. The keys to the property are accessed via a secure key safe and full details will be provided shortly before your arrival date.

There is free private parking located in front of The Coach House for up to two small vehicles and further parking in the private car park just above the driveway.

Please note that the garden is not secure so children & dogs should be accompanied at all times.

Check-in: 16:00

Checkout: 10:00


From the guestbook


(125 Reviews)



Fantastic place in a brilliant location with good parking



Great location<br/>V comfortable<br/>Showers v stiff






Very good

Damian & Joanne


The Coach House was perfect for our group of friends for a mid week break. The house is absolutely stunning with lots of character and charm. Especially loved the stone staircase! Big living room with plenty of comfy seating, and all of the bedrooms were lovely, so no arguments from our group as to who gets the small room ........ as none were! Superb!<br/>Fab location at the top of the 199 steps, so perfect for wandering down into Whitby or picking up the Coastal path to Robin Hoods Bay ...... which we did and would highly recommend.<br/>Only tiny gripe was the unexpected request to take out additional insurance or pay a security deposit incurring an admin fee which we didn't expect (albeit in the small print T's and C's), but it was only £25 so still made the stay incredible value for money.<br/>Thanks so much for a fab stay!



Great location and lovely views over Whitby<br/>Directions not great which made property difficult to locate by car. Directions stopped at Abbey car park. We are all ex pupils of St Hilda’s school and therefore know the area well, so heaven knows how much those who don’t would have struggled! Booking company instructions regarding damage waiver not clear, so I ended up loosing £25 payment as Host & Stay (when I rang them on the day) didn’t made clear to me on the phone that there was an alternative option of paying a £250 fully refundable deposit (feel free to listen to the conversation back as I believe it was recorded). Also, no tea towels in kitchen, no complimentary toiletries in bathrooms, one roll of loo roll per toilet (not much considering property sleeps 10 people). Mismatched wine/Prosecco glasses (some of which were dirty and we had to rewash), no glass recycling and unclear which black bin belonged to the property. All of the above would be expected in a luxury holiday let. I think we left it as clean if not more so than when we found it, so the fact the damage waiver had been kept does stick in my throat somewhat!!



Lovely stay! Spacious cottage in a great location.



Had a great stay at their fantastic property that is almost next door the the famous abbey in Whitby.<br/>Lovely spacious accommodation with good support from the hosts.



Amazing! <br/>Few areas for improvement, mainly around cleanliness but other than that great!



We were a party of 4 couples and 1 child.<br/>This is a really cosy house with great features. The rooms were decent size with comfy beds.<br/>Information provided about the property and area was in depth and useful. <br/>Great location at the top of the Abbey steps. <br/>We parked 4 cars comfortably in the driveway.<br/>Can highly recommend visiting the Whitby Brewery a couple of minutes walk away, great service, music, beer and freshly cooked pizzas. <br/>.<br/>Recommend taking a torch if walking back after dark, as the driveway from the Abbey to the house has no lights at all.<br/>I found the management company unfriendly to deal with prior to our stay,, they were not helpful at all and felt like a scripted reply to anything asked.<br/>Be aware that the management company charges you £250 damage deposit, with a non-refundable admin fee!! or an option to pay £25 fee for damage insurance. Neither of which are mentioned in the property description and only advised AFTER booking confirmation. We have never been asked to pay damage deposit on a family break (you would expect this on a hen or stag do) <br/>House was was not properly cleaned on arrival, the carpets were poorly vacuumed, with false eyelashes, dead woodlice and a false fingernail found across 2 bedroom floors. The Dishwasher was dirty, cutlery drawer in need of cleaning and oven grill tray still had used foil covering the tray!<br/>Overall lovely property, great location, but feel it is let down by the management company/maintenance, which the owners should address.



Great family trip, thank you!



Place looks even better in person! Host replied very quickly even out of hours. Perfect location with amazing views, may not be the best for less abled people as it is right at the top of the 199 steps. However these only take a few minutes to get up and down if you are fit and healthy, and you will be right in the centre of Whitby. If we were coming again we would bring some cleaning materials and tea towels, this was the only negative. Everything else was great and very well priced for the experience.



The location of this property is AMAZING as many other reviews have mentioned. Eerie and romantic to be holed up here during Storm Gerrit. Loved the Whitby Brewery a five minute walk away, and the village down the famed 199 steps. Loads of space in the house with excellent heating and hot water so always felt cozy. <br/>The down side for us was the general lack of cleanliness in the kitchen - dirty oven, grubby table, some cutlery was not clean and the kitchen bin did not close. There were no cleaning items for us to use apart from 3 dishwasher tablets, one tea towel, a Hoover, and 2mm of washing up liquid. I contacted the hosts who said necessary cleaning items would be brought asap - sadly this did not happen during our 3 night stay so we bought our own so we could clean before leaving. In addition, as others have noted, the kitchen could be better equipped for a place of this size and price.



Great house, plenty big enough. Great location<br/>Lack of basic things like salt & pepper, dish cloth etc<br/>Little things missing that would make it perfect






Stunning location and property. You will not be disappointed. The host was in touch throughout which gave me peace of mind. <br/>The description was accurate. Don’t book if you don’t like walking as the easiest and quickest way to Whitby is the infamous 199 steps! This wasn’t a problem for us. Make sure you read the instructions how to get to the property as it can be difficult to find without them. You have to drive under the arch into the grounds of the abbey towards the museum! <br/>We felt the house was possibly showing some signs of wear and tear and could do with some TLC especially the kitchen which could have done with more equipment such as baking trays, more glasses and a bread knife. All minor things we mentioned to the host. <br/>The property has lots of character and is surprisingly warm for a large old house. <br/>Definitely recommended.



Fantastic location with great facilities



Loved the house and location<br/>One of the en-suite toilets was blocked on arrival, and we had to wait until the following morning for anyone to come and sort it



Lovely property right next to the abbey. With fabulous views across the whole of Whitby. Very comfortable. We were a party of 9 and there was plenty of room for us all.



Excellent location. Good and speedy communications. Very helpful when my sister lost some jewellery. Would recommend.



Fabulous spacious house,fabulous location,clean, good instructions and responsive agent, but very let down by kitchen equipment and very basic crockery and cutlery..<br/>We were only four people so it was ok but if there were ten in the house you’d be hard pressed to serve up a nice looking meal at the table. I mentioned this to the agents and they said they would fix this.<br/>Whitby is fun and beautiful.



Great location, beautiful views, easy access using key safe, brilliant instructions including a video for finding the house. Issues with the showers, which has been previously flagged by others.



Beautiful property. Good, clear information handbook. Lots to do near by.



The location is great and the features, particularly the staircase are fantastic.<br/>The property is NOT suitable for dogs. The only garden is completely open to one side and the top end. We checked twice about the suitability of the property for 2 small dogs and were assured both times that it is secure. It is not. The satellite TV signal was broken and reported on the first day however it was not repaired. I received apologies for both of these things but nothing was done. As reported on previous reviews 2 of the 3 sofas have broken springs as well as the only chair. The oven is old and dirty. The kettle need’s descaling or replacing. All the glassware needed washing before use. The kitchen and dining area are just about adequate for 10 people. Too small for 10 adults. One bathroom bin and toilet brush were covered in rust. Behind the kitchen bin had peeling plaster and a floor tile missing. The showers were very difficult to switch on and off.



Fabulous location. Had a lovely stay. Property was very spacious and full of character. Would love to stay again.



??????????????????????????????????????. ???????. ??????????????4?3?. ????????. ???????. ????????.



Absolutely beautiful historic building in a stunning location. We were blown away by the views from every window. Every room is decorated beautifully. Hosts were very responsive to questions. <br/>The kitchen area is a little on the small side for 10 people but still manageable. We were disappointed by the lack of hand soap in the bathrooms and limited loo roll. No washing up facilities were provided either, so we had to go and buy all of these things on arrival.



The large comfortable house is exactly the place we needed. Parking right outside and a great location



Very good



Our only complaint was the early check in. But we also understand that the venue had new guests later that day.



Breathtaking scenery and location. Photos didn’t do justice to the beautiful views and awesome setting right next to Whitby Abbey. The house is a Grade 1 listed building and it was comfortable to stay in. We did have problems with the showers but the immediate response from the hosts resolved issues. We suggested a note to advise future guests on the working if the showers would assist. We left reluctantly and would love to return for that magnificent setting.



Amazing location with a beautiful garden to sit out in<br/>The property wasn’t very clean , especially the kitchen



The property and location were wonderful, the facilities were not. <br/>I’ve already reported an issue with the sofa and one of the beds. <br/>So, here is a list of problems:<br/>2 sofas have springs sticking up so couldn’t be sat on. <br/>1 bed couldn’t be used because it sinks in the middle causing back ache to one of our guests. <br/>The showers are so stiff that one of us bruised her hand. <br/>There was insufficient cutlery. <br/>A bathmat instead of a tea towel. Weird! <br/>Only 2 dishwasher tablets. <br/>No soap in the bathrooms. <br/>The shower servicing 3 rooms didn’t work and a technician had to be called out after several sent messages. <br/>The coffee table wobbles badly because there are a few screws missing. <br/>The front door lock is temperamental - an obvious fire risk as there is no other exit. <br/>The directions to the property were poor. <br/>This is a very expensive property that is not maintained to the standard we would expect



Great location, lots of space & really lovely features such as the stair case.<br/>Some furniture was looking a bit tired, stains on a few of the blankets and cushions, a couple of the bathroom bins were rusty and needed replacing, I felt the cleaning could be better, especially to the clothes hanging areas as they were really dusty. For the price I expected more attention to detail.



A lovely stay. The photos don’t do this place justice. We had a wonderful time!



The property was in a beautiful location and very clean.<br/>Each of the showers were a little worse for wear, difficult to operate as we were worried they would break .



spacious good location and views, beds very comfy<br/>had to leave kitchen bin lid on floor as it didn’t work when on , dead flowers in window, used coffee pods in machine, very creaky floor boards



location, size



Location and size of property for our group.<br/>One of the beds on the 2nd floor was not suitable for two adults, we had to prop the bed in the middle in order to stop rolling into the middle of the bed. Our first meal in the property uncovered broken crockery that had been placed in between good plates. Cleanliness of cooker wasn't great. A couple of the sofas were pretty done in so prolonged sittting saw you either sat on springs or sinking nearly to the floor.



Spacious and clean cottage with a beautiful stone staircase and 5 double bedrooms - en suite. <br/>We were all thrilled with the accommodation and felt it was good value for money.<br/>The views were simply stunning out of every window and the house was well situated within the grounds of the abbey and at the top of the 199 steps which took you straight into the cobbled streets of beautiful Whitby



lovely property in a unique location extremely comfortable.<br/>I think the directions could have been better. Liquid soap more tiolet rolls



A really beautiful house in an incredible location - Whitby Abbey outside the door on one side & panoramic views over the harbour on the other side. <br/>Some feedback on practical issues in the house:<br/>1 - Top floor, 1st room on the right: centre slat damaged on the bed meaning sinking in the middle/constantly rolling together.<br/>2 - Problem with the shower in the separate bathroom on the 1st floor: it worked for one shower then not at all after that, it felt like it would break if you forced it to turn.<br/>3 - Also problems with shower in the top floor en-suite room: it got increasingly difficult to turn off.



Great place to stay for our large family. <br/><br/>The 199 stairs were a little much after a few trips up and down carrying a toddler but that is not the fault of the house which is great and has wonderful views



the style of it and the location<br/>quite a lot of cobwebs in the building, crumbs on the kitchen table and the floors didn’t looks like they have been mopped either



Very good






The location is stunning



Fantastic Venue with amazing views from every angle. Ideal accommodation for up to 10 people wishing to explore Whitby. Don't be put off by the 199 steps they were easy to descend/climb and take you right into the heart of the town. In the evening views from the Coach House were fantastic. Finding accommodation in the dark was a bit tricky but as long as you remember to go through Abby archway and follow track around to the right. Only negative upstairs toilet was blocked on arrival and although notifying host nothing was done to resolve and looking back on previous guests comments this seems to have been an issue since last November. Needs sorting.



Excellent location and stunning views of the harbour and Whitby town centre. Absolutely gorgeous brewery just a stones throw away from the house that serves craft beer and lager as well as stone fired pizzas. Perfect spot to have a drink and walk back to the house. The beds at the property weren't the standard you'd imagine in a cottage at this price but nevertheless didn't impact our stay. The three floors of the house make it perfect for a group of families like ours who could have their own space yet congregate in the large living room for games and food. Cleanliness wasn't the best, the kitchen was quite dirty and the facilities such as the coffee machine hadn't been cleaned for a while and neither had the oven. Whilst these were minor niggles, we will definitely be returning due to the stunning location and the beauty of the abbey.



everything<br/>nothing on thing was with not having carpet on top floor floors was quite noisy for the bedrooms below but the wood floors were lovely



Location and house fantastic views<br/>Blocked toilet <br/>Needs a new sofa <br/>Windows need cleaning inside



Great location and lovely place to stay for our visit to Whitby. Would definitely stay here again ?






We stayed at the Coach House due to a family wedding in whitby, the property is beautiful with plenty of room and bathrooms, stunning views across whitby coast from the rear and the Abbey at the front.We will definitely be booking again.<br/>It's a minor point that didn't detract from our stay or impression of the property but the drive we struggled as we had two cars and a pick up.and intended for three regular size cars but it's not enough to put us off a return visit.



Such an amazing stay at the coach house. Perfect location - we got used to the steps! Beautiful views from the windows. Very happy with our stay and will definitely return.






Wonderful weekend to celebrate my fathers 60th. Fabulous accommodation and made even more spectacular by the views from both sides of the cottage. Very spacious and decorated to high standard. My family loved the time spent and will return



We loved our stay at the Coach House! The view was amazing and having the Abbey as your backyard was incredible. The house was very comfortable and communication prior to arrival was top notch. Would highly recommend!



The property is in an excellent location, with lots of character and the decor is perfect! We were a group of 10 family members with a small dog and we couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay.<br/>Nothing at all



We had a lovely stay on the weekend, the house accommodated us very well with having fresh bedding and towels and lovely hand washes etc. The kitchen had everything we needed for the weekend. Overall the house was amazing and we will definitely be returning



Location <br/>Size<br/>There is no option for single beds for children , there were no oven gloves in the kitchen,<br/>The wifi is poor and the smart tv doesn't work. The place wasn't very clean , lots of rubbish under the beds and behind the sofas , and no toiletries in the bathroom as shown.<br/>For this<br/>price for 4 nights i expected a higher standard.



Absolutely gorgeous property in a perfect location. Great space inside and out. Only a short walk down into Whitby with an incredible view of the sea and town from one side of the property and the Abbey from the other side. A wonderful base for a few days exploring Whitby and Sandsend :)



Tea, n sugar available. Very nice



The setting and location is fantastic being in the grounds of the Abbey. The beautiful historic building is, however, let down by really cheap furniture and interior which is the standard I’d expect in a student home. It was disappointing that there was no welcome gift as most hosts will provide something. All we had was a pint of milk. The key safe is also very difficult to use so much so we had to leave the keys at the door step on check out. The internet is also unreliable and, to use it, you have to register your details.



Amazing house. Wonderful location. Exceptional views!



This is an amazing house in the best part of Whitby; the views are spectacular and it is nice and quiet in the evening. Lots of space in the house, with the loft bedroom being a highlight.



we enjoyed the lovely views of the Abbey. and the property was fantastic ?<br/>nothing, we liked everything about the property.



Lovely & clean.<br/>Perfect for our family getaway.<br/>The location is fantastic and you just can’t beat the views of the abbey & the harbour.<br/>We will be visiting again for sure



Absolutely fantastic old cottage, right next to Whitby Abbey and perfectly located for a quiet weekend with easy access to the town centre just down the hill<br/><br/>The rooms are superb, luxuriously decorated and perfect for a lovely family getaway



Great location and views and fab property with lots of character. Would recommend.



Great location, clean, modern<br/>The wifi was really poor which made it difficult for one of our party to work from the house on one day.



Absolutely amazing location & views! The property is really lovely & comfortable. We were just disappointed we couldn’t have stayed longer!

Eve K., United Kingdom


Property pleasant but boiler broke down and could not be repaired so no hot water; host provided some electric heaters. Disappointing when property rent was the most expensive.



Location was excellent - right next to the Abbey with a view over Whitby. Easy to get around - just a couple of minutes walk into town and good parking which is fairly rare in Whitby. Loved the character of the house - felt really historic and cosy. Good wifi and tech etc. Bedrooms were all comfortable.<br/>When we arrived we noticed that one of the ensuite toilets had overflowed with sewage, and had made the bedroom smelly. There was also another bathroom directly underneath that smelt of sewage so we also didn't use that one. We reported it but they said no-one was available to fix it. There were other bathrooms so not a huge issue but also not a pleasant smell in some parts of the house and changed which bedrooms were used. Kitchen/dining table quite small compared to the rest of the size of the property and the kitchen utensils could definitely do with being updated. Some of them were dirty and cracked and looked very well used.



Very good



The location was absolutely amazing we couldn’t fault it! we were so shocked albeit very happy to be right on the Abby.. Amazing location! couldn’t fault it.<br/>My husband and I arrived early ahead of our guests, to get settled in ready to greet them on their arrival, I was shocked to see the most amazing views to the bay but the windows were dirty, marks all over them, so I wiped all the downstairs windows, my husband wasn’t best pleased I was cleaning but it was the most amazing view we needed to see out of the windows.<br/>The kitchen cupboards were grimy too, which I alway gave the top cupboards a wipe to make them shine.<br/>A lack of drinking glasses no small tumblers, only noticed as some of our party had whiskey for a nightcap we had to use pint glasses.<br/>Hot Water! one of our guests had the shower completely stop on her for no hot water, I did call host and stay but luckily one of our guests knew it had low pressure so he reset it, it came back on and I called back to let them know.<br/>Other than those things the location and the property is absolutely stunning for where it sits on top on the Bay near the Abby, it was just wonderful, but for the money it lacked the finesse that a property of that status just lacked and felt slightly tired . <br/>It was £1300 for x2 nights which is a lot of money for it to have such small issues that could be rectified very easily.



The view was amazing! Love the interior in all the rooms and the living room was big and spacious for all 10 of us.<br/>The lights in the ensuite on the top floor could do with being a little brighter.



A fantastic stay with amazing views and great location!



great location with great views, luxurious furnishings, well equipped, plenty of space.<br/>no option for a twin room. one of the beds was broken meaning it was very uncomfortable for 2 people to share.



self catering






Stunning characterful property, incredible location and amazing views. The beds were super comfy! Also great communication from the people we booked through, really helpful when trying to find it, and lots of useful information provided in the house.<br/>The bushes at the front of the house were very overgrown - so much so that we couldn’t see the front door and couldn’t use the path - not ideal having to go across the grass all the time when it was wet. The windows on the outside were very dirty - spoiled the view a little. There was also sweet wrappers under the sofa and under the cushions - wouldn’t usually be bothered but would like to feel the house has had a really thorough clean, given the current Covid situation All very minor (hopefully constructive) criticism, in what was overall and amazing place to stay. We would certainly consider visiting again and would definitely recommend to friends and family.



Position, quality of rooms<br/>A cafetière would have been useful. And a few tea towels.



Lovely to stay in a home with lots of character. The views from the house were spectacular.<br/>I feel that the beds in the 2 main bedrooms should have been king sized or twin. The rooms were certainly big enough to accommodate them.



Beautiful house with the best views of Whitby without a doubt.






Beautiful well appointed house, perfect for our weekend away, fabulous location, would definitely stay again

Sandra P.


Property brilliant, with age range a second tv would have been useful.<br>The foliage/shrubbery in front on the kitchen: lounge area could go with taking lower to able very to see out. Apart from that another year we would come again as we love Whitby



Lovely location, nice property.



A wonderful house in a beautiful location. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place in Whitby.

Cassie Wood


We had a fantastic 4 nights stay here, the accommodation offers plenty of space (we were a party of 6 adults and 2 children). Has everything you need - plenty of kitchen utensils, cutlery, bowls, plates, pans, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, kitchen roll and toilet roll. It was a great base for us to use. We used the key box if we went out to separate things so whoever was out last or back first was able to lock up or get in. If you don't want to tackle the 199 steps you can also get down to the town centre and back by walking behind the cottages (walk to the cobbled slope next to the steps and turn left between the buildings and field). This route was far less busy and a bit easier on the legs!



We all really enjoyed our break. The location was fantastic - perfect to pop back after being in amongst the action in Whitby and the house had everything we needed. Couldn’t fault it!



Location is excellent, as are the views. Whilst the accommodation is nice enough, the furnishings are generic and cheap in some places. The kitchen is poorly stocked and so don't expect to be cooking, especially as this is a 10 person house. TV didn't work, internet is buggy as you need to login with your personal details (not sure why gender is relevant for internet login!). All in all, its nice enough but its a lot of money for what it is.



Great location, easy to walk in to Whitby along as you can manage steps .<br/>Great location , quiet, great views and good standard of property



An amazing home in an amazing location. Could not recommend enough!!



The bedrooms and the view<br/>We only had one set of keys, which made it difficult when we were doing separate things



lovely cottage amazing location, great hosts - brilliantcommutation

Diane H


Booked the coach house for a week for our family to celebrate our daughters birthday , what a beautiful place it is , perfect situation being in the grounds of the abbey and views right over Whitby. It was spotlessly clean and so comfortable and so quiet , we all fell in love with the place ??



The location , quietness and the house was Lovely<br/>Needs king size beds in the bigger rooms <br/>Needs finishing off in areas



Brilliant location



Lovely, characterful property in a great location. Excellent views of Whitby harbour in one direction and Whitby Abbey in the other. Short walk down the 199 steps to the harbour. Just round the corner from Whitby Brewery was an added bonus. We really enjoyed our stay.



You won’t be diassapointed. The coach house is in an ideal location in Whitby with incredible views of the abbey and the sea. The house is great spec, spacious and clean. 5 stars!



Really good house and well cleaned



Amazing location!!!



6 of us stayed here from Sunday-Wednesday for a 30th birthday celebration. What a beautiful cottage, perfect location with everything in Whitby so close. The views from this cottage are beyond beautiful, the abbey one side and Whitby shops etc the other. We would have loved to fill this cottage but due to restrictions of 6 people mixing we only had 6. The bedrooms all a decent size we all had our own bathroom. We loved the decor of the property everything is so well thought out. The top room was for the birthday girl and was by far the best room. We were so pleased to have been able to stay here as we couldn’t get into a lot of places to have a drink, so we spent a lot of time in the cottage instead which was perfect. Can’t recommend this property enough. Thank you so much. I think we will be back in March for another big birthday!



Loved it - already booked another stay with Stay North Yorkshire. Good value, well decorated, excellent location.



Lovely place to stay - beautiful setting and very stylish and clean inside



Really great property everything finished to a high level and very clean and cosy, will definitely come back! Also in the best location we could have asked for!



Amazing location<br/>Stylish venue with great views overlooking Whitby



We loved our stay here! As a big family with children, the downstairs area was great and all the bedrooms were generally spacious. <br/><br/>Everywhere was spotlessly clean and extra measures were taken due to COVID. <br/><br/>Every main facility you could ask for was supplied.<br/><br/>The location was great as it is a stone's throw away from the Abbey. The get to the centre of Whitby, we just walked up and down the 199 steps every day (if we were able to without the children) or we took the open top bus, which was around £7 for an adult ticket (less for a child), but was hop-on-hop-off as many times as you wanted to within 24 hours. <br/><br/>Would recommend.



Fantastic house in a beautiful location. <br/>Loved it! Would definitely go back.



Gorgeous house and in my opinion probably the best location in Whitby! Spotless inside and out, well stocked with cutlery/plates/glasses for large groups. Would highly recommend although anybody not great with stairs it may not be ideal as it sits right at the top of Whitby next to the Abbey.

Samuel P.


We throughly enjoyed our stay at The Coach House. The house was clearly recently renovated, and to a very high standard. The beds, linens and furnishings were all really comfortable and the house was very tastefully decorated. We loved the old features of the house, especially the original stone staircase, which whilst not ideal for kids, was great all the same! <br>The location was amazing, right next to the Abbey and within a short walk to the town (albeit up/down the ‘199 steps!’)<br>The views were great, and there are loads of walks to do straight from the doorstep. The Whitby Brewery is also just round the corner, which was also a very welcome highlight.<br>We’re already planning to stay again & I’m just hoping we’ll be able to get in... The property seems to be very popular, and I can certainly see why. Thanks again!



Fabulous unique character property with stunning views. Fantastic location right next to The Abbey, yet still tucked out the way and very peaceful. The house is deceptively spacious. The large living room was ideal for our family get together. <br/><br/>It was spotlessly clean with quality linens and fixtures. Nice outside area with table which has the sun through the day. <br/><br/>Overall a great property which we would highly recommend.



Fantastic service and stay. Amazing location and property. Highly recommended



Storybook location and building. Beautiful horses to see every day. Very comfortable beds, charming...charming...charming.



What an amazing place. Lovely living space, well equipped kitchen and stylish bedrooms. Ideal location for whitby. Very clean. Would visit again.



We went to the coach house as a party of 8 to celebrate my parents 60th Wedding anniversary. What an amazing place to stay. The position is outstanding, in the shadow of the abbey with views down across Whitby. The house is beautiful, comfortable and had everything we needed. All the bedrooms are lovely. The lounge is nice and big so we all fit in well. Would highly recommend and the host company are very good to deal with. Friendly and helpful.



Just back from an amazing stay at the Coach House in Whitby. The house looks awesome when you arrive and just keeps getting better when you enter. Plenty of space for 10 people and beautifully appointed. I loved that there was tons of crockery, cutlery and glasses and everything else you'd need to cook. We did curry for 10 on the Friday night and a full English breakfast with no problems at all. The house was spotless and the bedding and towels were absolutely pristine. It's a great location with super views of the Abbey on one side and the harbour on the other. The whole experience was booking to leaving was smooth and seamless. Highly recommended.



Great house with all the facilities you need for your stay. Location is amazing with easy access into the town centre or for a visit to the abbey! View out is der was breath taking!

Tracy T.


Despite the weather being truly awful the cottage was homely, cosy and welcoming. We had a slight problem with the front door which was dealt with quickly and efficiently.



Absolutely stunning property and location. Spotlessly clean and incredibly warm. Highly recommended.



We were a family of 10 adults staying with dogs and all I can say is WOW. The house was in the grounds of Whitby Abbey and the views were to die for. On one side of the house you had a sea view and views of Whitby and on the other side you had views of the Abbey. The house itself was stunning. So clean and welcoming and had everything you could wish for. The bathrooms were beautiful and the bedrooms so comfortable. The lounge was large enough for us all to sit and play games and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed. There was a micro brewery just a five minute walk away if you wanted to get out and Whitby town centre was just a walk down the steps but they were right outside your door. If you didn’t fancy the walk down the steps you could always take the car down to the town centre. Would highly recommend this house and Stay North Yorkshire were a great company to deal with so will definitely be booking with them again.

Sally A


A lovely cosy cottage in a very good location, right by the Abbey. All 8 of our group would return to this cottage to stay again. The property is lovely and the views are beautiful. If you dont fancy the 199 steps back up to the cottage - the taxi drivers all know the way!



The property was great and as expected clean, modern with strong heritage and very well located. Communication with Stay was timely and easy.

Home Truths

The drive through the Abbey grounds archways can be quite tight, so take care when approaching in a larger vehicle.

The internal sandstone staircase is a beautiful feature, but please take care with children or those less physically able.

The Coach House doesn't have a ground floor WC. The bathrooms are located on the first floor and second floor.

There are some sloping ceilings on the second floor, so please be sure to mind your head when gazing across the harbour.


Via Social Media

Newsletter Sign Up


Sign Up

Get updates and inspiration straight to your inbox